Day of the Imprisoned Writer

Day of Impr Writer LOGO (2)Mark the Day of the Imprisoned Writer @ the Dublin Book Festival; book your ticket at:, and listen to Arena on RTÉ Radio 1 on Wednesday, November 6th to hear more about the writers involved around the world –

Please see below for details of how to nominate your choice of author for Irish PEN’s Award for Outstanding Achievement in Irish Literature –

At 6pm on November 15th, as part of the Dublin Book Festival at Smock Alley Theatre, Irish PEN looks forward to marking the Day of the Imprisoned Writer with poet, scriptwriter and broadcaster Theo Dorgan, international news analyst and Newstalk broadcaster Shona Murray, and Afghanistan-based journalist and Human Rights defender Jamila Omar.

Every year, around the world, the Day of the Imprisoned Writer celebrates and supports writers who resist repression of the basic human right to freedom of expression and who stand up to attacks made against their right to impart information and insight.

Theo DorganIn a 60 minute event, Theo, Shona and Jamila will read from the work of writers based around the world who have been punished and targeted because they had the courage to speak their minds; challenging injustice and confronting governments and oppressive regimes far afield and closer to home.

The Day of the Imprisoned Writer is proudly hosted by Irish PEN and Front Line Defenders. Irish PEN are delighted that it will form part of the Dublin Book Festival for the first time this year.

Tickets to this event are free but limited – we look forward to seeing you there.

Calling all PEN members – please submit your nominations for Irish PEN ‘s 2014 Award for Outstanding Achievement in Irish Literature.

Front Line DefendersYou may submit your nominations to this address, and renew your membership sub at Past PEN Award winners include John Banville, Joseph O’Connor, Brendan Kennelly, Roddy Doyle, Neil Jordan, Edna O’Brien, Irish PEN’s President Brian Friel, William Trevor, Jennifer Johnston and Thomas Kilroy. Past Award winners who are no longer with us include Nobel Laureate Seamus Heaney and Maeve Binchy. We will update you on details of our Award presentation and dinner, which will take place in early 2014.

Please see for more information about Irish PEN, our members and our annual award.

You can view the flyer here.

Shona Murray

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *