In November 2020 Irish PEN was relaunched as Irish PEN/PEN na hÉireann. This followed the amalgamation of the original organisation and the Freedom to Write Campaign.

The aims of Irish PEN/PEN na hÉireann are:

  • to promote literature in and about Ireland both nationally and internationally
  • to defend worldwide the right of writers to responsible freedom of expression as defined in the PEN Charter
  • to foster international understanding through the appreciation of literature

We are an all-Ireland organisation, entirely staffed by volunteers and with limited resources. For this reason, please be patient if our responses are slow. Our contact details are below, but the postal address will not be active during Covid-19.

Our twitter handle is: @PENIreland

Facebook: @PenCentreIreland

Our Board members are: June Considine, Catherine Dunne (Secretary), Kate Ennals, Pádraig Hanratty (Newsletter Editor & Membership Secretary), Sophia Hillan (Vice-Chair), Iggy McGovern (Treasurer) Liz McManus, Maria McManus, Lia Mills (Chair), Éilís Ní Dhuibhne, John O’Donnell.

This website is currently being updated. Please bear with us while we make this transition.