2015 Éilís Ní Dhuibhne

Irish PEN were thrilled to present Éilís Ní Dhuibhne with the Irish PEN Award for Outstanding Contribution to Irish Literature 2015 at the Irish PEN Award Dinner on Friday 20th February at The Royal St George Yacht Club, Dún Laoghaire, Co. Dublin.

Ní Dhuibhne was born in Dublin in 1954. She attended University College Dublin (UCD), where she studied Pure English, then Folklore. She was awarded the UCD Entrance scholarship for English, and two post graduate scholarships in Folklore. In 1978-9 she studied at the University of Copenhagen, and in 1982 was awarded a PhD from the National University of Ireland (NUI). She has worked in the Department of Irish Folklore in UCD, and for many years as a curator in the National Library of Ireland. Also a teacher of Creative Writing, she has been Writer Fellow at Trinity College, Dublin and is currently Writer Fellow at UCD. She is a member of Aosdána

Novels in English
  • The Bray House (1990)
  • Singles (1994)
  • The Dancers Dancing (1999)
  • Fox, Swallow, Scarecrow (2007)
Novels in Irish
  • Dúnmharú sa Daingean (2001)
  • Cailíní Beaga Ghleann na mBláth (2003)
  • Hurlamaboc (2005)
  • Dún an Airgid (2007)
  • Dordán (2011)
  • Aisling Nó Iníon A (2015)
  • Blood and Water (1989)
  • Eating Women Is Not Recommended (1991)
  • The Inland Ice (1997)
  • The Pale Gold of Alaska (2000)
  • Midwife to the Fairies (2003)
  • The Shelter of Neighbours (2012)
Children’s Books
  • The Uncommon Cormorant
  • Hugo and the Sunshine Girl
  • The Hiring Fair (1992)
  • Blaeberry Sunday (1993)
  • Penny Farthing Sally (1996)
  • The Sparkling Rain (2004)
  • Snobs, Dogs and Scobies (2011)
  • Dún na mBan Trí Thine
    Produced by Amharclann de hÍde and first performed at the Peacock, Dublin, 1995;
  • Milseog an tSamhraidh
    Produced by Amharclann de hÍde and first performed at the Samuel Beckett Theatre, Trinity College, in 1996;
  • The Nettle Shirts
    Produced by the Abbey and performed at the Peacock Theatre, Dublin, in 1998.